☰ Menu
Join/Renew SHOT Contribute to SHOT

Awards, Prizes and Grants

Updated 10 August 2021
It is not possible anymore to submit nominations for the 2021 SHOT Awards and Fellowships. The overview of the 2021 prize recipients will be posted on the SHOT website mid-October 2021. The official presentation will take place 20 November 2021 during the SHOT Awards Ceremony. 

In 2020 SHOT, with reluctance, announced the postponement of the Dibner Award, the Hacker Prize, and the Edelstein Prize. Please note that nominations that were eligible in 2020 were also eligible in 2021.

Please find more information on the various Awards, Prizes and Grants pages.

Each year, the Society for the History of Technology offers a number of awards, grants, and prizes, details on which may be obtained by clicking on the name of the appropriate item below.


Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship: Awarded annually to a student preparing a dissertation on a history of technology topic (broadly defined).

Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship: Postdoctoral fellowship enabling an early career scholar to prepare a dissertation for publication or to develop a new project.

NASA Fellowship: A predoctoral or postdoctoral fellowship in the history of space technology.

Awards and Prizes

Leonardo da Vinci Medal: The society’s highest honor, presented to an individual who has greatly contributed to the history of technology through research, teaching, publications, service to the Society, and other activities.

Sidney Edelstein Prize: Recognizes an outstanding scholarly book on a topic related to the history of technology.

Sally Hacker Prize: Established in 1999 to honor an exceptional book on the history of technology intended for non-specialist as well as scholarly readers.

Abbot Payson Usher Prize: Awarded annually to honor the best scholarly article published in Technology and Culture.

Joan Cahalin Robinson Prize: Awarded for to a graduate student or early career scholar presenting at the SHOT annual meeting for the first time.

Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize: Recognizes an unpublished essay in the history of technology. Restricted to graduate students, early career scholars, and new entrants to the profession.

Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize For the best article in the history of electrotechnology—power, electronics, telecommunications, and computer science.

Dibner Award for Excellence in Museum Exhibits: Annual Award for an outstanding exhibit that uses artifacts to interpret the history of technology to the general public. The 2021 Award will be restricted to virtual exhibits.

Eugene S. Ferguson Prize: For original reference works that support future scholarship in the history of technology.

Martha Trescott Prize: For the best published essay in the area of women in technology (even-numbered years), or in  the area of social responsibility of engineers in history (odd-numbered years).International Scholars Program.

International Scholars: Recognizes outstanding scholars living and working in countries currently underrepresented in the membership of SHOT. As of 2021 the International Scholars Program will be part of the Internationalization Committee

Travel Grants: SHOT offers some grant support for travel to the annual meeting; details are here. The special interest groups WITH (Women in Technological History) and EDITH (Exploring Diversity in Technology’s History) also offer (travel) grants; information can be found here.